[Home] [Downloads] [Search] [Help/forum]

Gammon Forum

See www.mushclient.com/spam for dealing with forum spam. Please read the MUSHclient FAQ!

[Folder]  Entire forum
-> [Folder]  MUSHclient
. -> [Folder]  Suggestions
. . -> [Subject]  Save Replaced Command
Home  |  Users  |  Search  |  FAQ
Username:
Register forum user name
Password:
Forgotten password?

Save Replaced Command

It is now over 60 days since the last post. This thread is closed.     [Refresh] Refresh page


Posted by MUSHuser   (6 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Fri 01 Oct 2010 01:54 PM (UTC)
Message
http://www.gammon.com.au/scripts/doc.php?dialog=IDD_COMMAND_OPTIONS

If you look at the commands on that page, you will notice "Save Deleted Command" and "Confirm Before Replacing Typing". While the former is very useful, it is often limited by forgetting to press Esc. The latter happens to be just plain annoying so I don't use it.

So, what happens when I am typing something long and press the up or down arrow to navigate to an area to edit? More often than not, I end up transversing the history and losing everything I typed. This happens to me more frequently with the down arrow, since I have a habit of using it to get to the end of my input.

It's true that I can disable "Arrow Keys Traverse History", but that would be much less convenient. That's why I'm suggesting a new option, "Save Replaced Command", that would be sort of an extension to "Save Deleted Command". This would allow the user to transverse as normal without confirmation. Any newly inputted commands that are replaced but not sent would simply be appended to the end of the history.

Alternatively... we can have it so that pressing the down arrow while inputting a command does not automatically clear it. Or the down arrow can act like Esc key (basically about half of my original suggestion).
[Go to top] top

Posted by Coderunner   USA  (27 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #1 on Fri 01 Oct 2010 02:18 PM (UTC)
Message
I think these are fantastic ideas. I agree, confirm before replacing typing is extremely annoying. Everyone I know that uses MUSH feels the same.
[Go to top] top

Posted by WillFa   USA  (525 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #2 on Fri 01 Oct 2010 02:20 PM (UTC)
Message
Turn on "Arrow keys recall partial command", then if there's no other matching history commands, down arrow won't clear the input box... forcing you to hit esc to clear it.
[Go to top] top

Posted by Nick Gammon   Australia  (21,322 posts)  [Biography] bio   Forum Administrator
Date Reply #3 on Fri 01 Oct 2010 09:40 PM (UTC)
Message
The prompt about "Replace your typing of ..." only occurs if you are at the very start or very end of your typing. I know it is annoying, but if you are half-way through your message the arrow keys just move you through it.

Would it be better if the "Save deleted command" also applied to replaced commands? Then if you do up or down arrow to find your typing disappear you just arrow again to get it back.

- Nick Gammon

www.gammon.com.au, www.mushclient.com
[Go to top] top

Posted by Twisol   USA  (2,257 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #4 on Fri 01 Oct 2010 10:00 PM (UTC)
Message
Nick Gammon said:
Would it be better if the "Save deleted command" also applied to replaced commands? Then if you do up or down arrow to find your typing disappear you just arrow again to get it back.

That's how the Linux bash shell works, among a number of other things. I think that would be a great change.

'Soludra' on Achaea

Blog: http://jonathan.com/
GitHub: http://github.com/Twisol
[Go to top] top

Posted by Nick Gammon   Australia  (21,322 posts)  [Biography] bio   Forum Administrator
Date Reply #5 on Fri 01 Oct 2010 11:37 PM (UTC)
Message
Changed in version 4.64 so that if you have "Save Deleted Command" checked, then using the arrow-keys to change the contents of the command window counts as deleting it.

So in other words, you can leave "Confirm before replacing typing" unchecked, and not lose a lengthy thing you have typed, just because you hit the arrow key. Instead, it is saved in the command history buffer.

- Nick Gammon

www.gammon.com.au, www.mushclient.com
[Go to top] top

Posted by MUSHuser   (6 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #6 on Sat 02 Oct 2010 01:02 AM (UTC)
Message
Nick Gammon said:

Changed in version 4.64 so that if you have "Save Deleted Command" checked, then using the arrow-keys to change the contents of the command window counts as deleting it.

So in other words, you can leave "Confirm before replacing typing" unchecked, and not lose a lengthy thing you have typed, just because you hit the arrow key. Instead, it is saved in the command history buffer.



Thank you so much!
[Go to top] top

Posted by MUSHuser   (6 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #7 on Mon 13 Feb 2012 03:25 PM (UTC)
Message
I apologize in advanced for being so meticulous. I have another suggestion regarding these preferences that I felt I should share. If it is deemed unnecessary, feel free to bypass it.

Let's say I transverse up five commands in my command history. If I edit it and press Esc, it clears the command from the command window and saves it to the end of my command history. This is all perfect. However, when I transverse up again, it takes me to the sixth (seventh if you count the saved one) command in my history. I am not sure if this is intentional because it may be preferable that way. It just seems kind of awkward for the saved command to not be the first one to transverse since that is normally the case when you use Esc. My suggestion would just be to make Esc also reset the transverse point as if you entered a command.

(The documentation should probably be updated for "Save Deleted Command" to add that it can save commands that are deleted when you transverse the command history.)

PS: I know that you're always on top of forum messages, Nick. I'm also too lazy to make a new subject so I will just mention it here. If you select Yes to "Preload world defaults from an existing world?" when trying to create a new world, you are not actually creating a new world. You are essentially opening a world and going into the "World Properties". If you save the world, you end up overwriting the file you preloaded from!
[Go to top] top

Posted by Nick Gammon   Australia  (21,322 posts)  [Biography] bio   Forum Administrator
Date Reply #8 on Tue 14 Feb 2012 12:46 AM (UTC)
Message
Quote:

However, when I transverse up again, it takes me to the sixth (seventh if you count the saved one) command in my history. I am not sure if this is intentional because it may be preferable that way.


That wasn't intentional I don't think, but no-one else has complained.

Quote:

If you save the world, you end up overwriting the file you preloaded from!


I thought that was fixed in a recent release, what version are you using?

- Nick Gammon

www.gammon.com.au, www.mushclient.com
[Go to top] top

Posted by MUSHuser   (6 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #9 on Wed 15 Feb 2012 03:41 PM (UTC)
Message
I'm using version 4.73.
[Go to top] top

Posted by Nick Gammon   Australia  (21,322 posts)  [Biography] bio   Forum Administrator
Date Reply #10 on Thu 16 Feb 2012 06:13 AM (UTC)
Message
http://www.gammon.com.au/forum/?id=11480

Version 4.76:

Quote:

7. Got rid of dialog "Preload world defaults from an existing world?" when creating a new world file. This was confusing, didn't preload plugins, and had the potential to wipe out settings in the world you were preloading from.


- Nick Gammon

www.gammon.com.au, www.mushclient.com
[Go to top] top

The dates and times for posts above are shown in Universal Co-ordinated Time (UTC).

To show them in your local time you can join the forum, and then set the 'time correction' field in your profile to the number of hours difference between your location and UTC time.


8,857 views.

It is now over 60 days since the last post. This thread is closed.     [Refresh] Refresh page

Go to topic:           Search the forum


[Go to top] top

Quick links: MUSHclient. MUSHclient help. Forum shortcuts. Posting templates. Lua modules. Lua documentation.

Information and images on this site are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia License unless stated otherwise.

[Home]


Written by Nick Gammon - 5K   profile for Nick Gammon on Stack Exchange, a network of free, community-driven Q&A sites   Marriage equality

Comments to: Gammon Software support
[RH click to get RSS URL] Forum RSS feed ( https://gammon.com.au/rss/forum.xml )

[Best viewed with any browser - 2K]    [Hosted at FutureQuest]