[Home] [Downloads] [Search] [Help/forum]

Gammon Forum

See www.mushclient.com/spam for dealing with forum spam. Please read the MUSHclient FAQ!

[Folder]  Entire forum
-> [Folder]  MUSHclient
. -> [Folder]  Jscript
. . -> [Subject]  New to Scripting - Random Timer Needed Please
Home  |  Users  |  Search  |  FAQ
Username:
Register forum user name
Password:
Forgotten password?

New to Scripting - Random Timer Needed Please

It is now over 60 days since the last post. This thread is closed.     [Refresh] Refresh page

Posted by Mikeof85   (2 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Thu 27 Nov 2014 01:57 AM (UTC)
Hello. I'm COMPLETELY NEW to scripting. I have zero experience. I'm usually good at researching for the answers I need, but I just cannot seem to find anything that works. Could someone please help?

Okay here's an example of what I need:

I cast a spell and the world returns with "You cast hurricane."

What I would like is to have a random timer between that notice and me automatically casting again with "Cast hurricane"

**World** "You successfully cast hurricane."
--Random amount of time elapses between 2 and 20 seconds--
**Me** "Cast Hurricane"

I want it to be a one-shot timer, this way I can switch to another task if I need to.

I'm open to LUA or Jscript, but I'll need helping learning how to do either, and setting mushclient up to execute the script.
[Go to top] top

Posted by Mikeof85   (2 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #1 on Thu 27 Nov 2014 02:05 AM (UTC)
Here's what I have so far. In all likelihood I could be waaaaay off base. The musclient is saying i have an error on line 2... No clue what to do. Thanks for any help!

function randtimer ( ) {
var randomtimer = (Math.random()*20)+2);
World.DoAfter(randomtimer,"cast hurricane");
}
[Go to top] top

Posted by Nick Gammon   Australia  (21,321 posts)  [Biography] bio   Forum Administrator
Date Reply #2 on Thu 27 Nov 2014 05:10 AM (UTC)