[Home] [Downloads] [Search] [Help/forum]

Register forum user name Search FAQ

Gammon Forum

[Folder]  Entire forum
-> [Folder]  MUSHclient
. -> [Folder]  Lua
. . -> [Subject]  Luasocket and Coroutines?

Luasocket and Coroutines?

It is now over 60 days since the last post. This thread is closed.     [Refresh] Refresh page

Posted by Rivius   (99 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Thu 15 Sep 2011 10:57 PM (UTC)
I've never had the chance to use coroutines in lua, and as an amateur novice programmer, I'm not entirely sure of how they work but generally have a vague idea of the advantages from a brief talk with a friend. I've been attempting to use lua socket to pull information from a website for the purposes of finding out what organization a player is in and group them into it. The code I came up with does what is intended and works as follows:

function getorg(player)
	local w = assert(http.request("http://www.ironrealms.com/game/honors/Lusternia/"..player))

if not w then
		ui.alert("There has been an error retrieving information from the website.")
		if IsConnected() then SendNoEcho("") end
		return
	end

local m = core.match("(?:City|Commune)\: ([A-Z][a-z]+)", w)

if not m then
		ui.message("This person appears to either be a rogue, or not exist at all.")
		return
	end

add_name(player, m[1])
end

The thing about this though, is that it hangs while getting the information. I discussed this with a friend, and he mentioned that this may be exacerbated if the host was experiencing problems. He mentioned that to remove the hang, I would have to use a non-blocking method and utilize coroutines. I've tried a few things, but they did not seem to work at all. I've done searches and fail to really understand the code presented.

How would I take advantage of coroutines to speed this up?

I would show my previous attempts at using connect and receive, but I scrapped them out of frustration.
[Go to top] top

Posted by Rivius   (99 posts)  [Biography] bio