[Home] [Downloads] [Search] [Help/forum]

Register forum user name Search FAQ

Gammon Forum

[Folder]  Entire forum
-> [Folder]  SMAUG
. -> [Folder]  Compiling the server
. . -> [Subject]  Trying to compile with Cygwin on WIN 10

Trying to compile with Cygwin on WIN 10

It is now over 60 days since the last post. This thread is closed.     [Refresh] Refresh page

Posted by Brandon   (9 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Mon 03 Jan 2022 01:49 AM (UTC)
I've worked my way through several issues so far (learning a bit about cygwin and installing make, c++, etc). I can get to the end (I think it's almost the end- I'm no programmer). It compiles everything fine but after finishing with weather I get an error that -lasan cannot be found. My research says it's some kind of address sanitizer for linking or something like that (see I'm not a programmer). My research also says there's none for windows. But I've seen on these forums that people have compiled this with cygwin on windows 10. Any suggestion or help? I wish I could just download an already compiled smaugFUSS. Years ago when I was on XP, I was trying to compile smaug 1.4a and never could. But I managed to get hold of smaug.exe somehow and was able to run my own mud. Trying to do so again and this is the wall I hit. Thanks for any help!
[Go to top] top

Posted by Fiendish   USA  (2,518 posts)  [Biography] bio   Global Moderator
Date Reply #1 on Mon 03 Jan 2022 02:23 AM (UTC)
What if you remove -fsanitize=address from the W_FLAGS line in src/Makefile?

https://github.com/fiendish/aardwolfclientpackage
[Go to top] top

Date Reply #2 on Mon 03 Jan 2022 03:12 AM (UTC)
Hi- thanks for the prompt suggestion! I gave it a go and same error. So I did make clean and tried make again. Same error at the same spot. I really thought your suggestion was the fix! Here's the WFLAGS I have.

W_FLAGS = -Wall -Wshadow -Wformat-security -Wpointer-arith -Wcast-align -Wredundant-decls