[Home] [Downloads] [Search] [Help/forum]

Register forum user name Search FAQ

Gammon Forum

[Folder]  Entire forum
-> [Folder]  SMAUG
. -> [Folder]  Compiling the server
. . -> [Subject]  Just a little help

Just a little help

It is now over 60 days since the last post. This thread is closed.     [Refresh] Refresh page

Posted by Uru   Canada  (67 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Thu 09 Feb 2006 02:17 PM (UTC)
Sorry, I know there's plenty of help around, but I'm new to UNIX, compiling, and coding. I've been reading and reading for the last 2 days but I'm not confident with UNIX yet.
I found a good reference to UNIX commands (finally) and have it ready on my HD. I still need assurance I'm about to do this right.
1.) Can I uncompress the source for SMAUG in ZIP form while in UNIX (BSD system) and still have it work? I'm not used to "untarring" tar files yet.
2.) What are the commands to show me what I have installed for editors and programs? I understand UNIX is supposed to have various editors and file viewers, but what do I have?

I can figure out the rest after I'm used to the fundamentals. What confuses me is the directory system. The help on compiling on this site referes to a "dist" and my system doesn't seem to have one, or I can't find it.

Please have patience.
System info: OS: PC BSD 1.0-rc2
Installed from CD.
CV SUP updated
Ports updated.

"What does not kill us makes us stronger."
[Go to top] top

Posted by David Haley   USA  (3,881 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #1 on Thu 09 Feb 2006 02:25 PM (UTC)
1.) Can I uncompress the source for SMAUG in ZIP form while in UNIX (BSD system) and still have it work? I'm not used to "untarring" tar files yet.
I'm afraid that this question is somewhat meaningless. You can only uncompress in the format in which the source comes.

If you have a tar.gz file (sometimes contracted to .tgz), then this is enough:
tar -xzf myarchive.tar.gz
If it's just a tar:
tar -xf myarchive.tar