[Home] [Downloads] [Search] [Help/forum]

Register forum user name Search FAQ

Gammon Forum

[Folder]  Entire forum
-> [Folder]  SMAUG
. -> [Folder]  SMAUG coding
. . -> [Subject]  skin code problem

skin code problem

It is now over 60 days since the last post. This thread is closed.     [Refresh] Refresh page

Pages: 1 2  

Posted by Addrodoc   (15 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Mon 28 Feb 2005 08:05 PM (UTC)

I'm trying to rewrite the smaug skin code so that, instead of skinning the corpse of another player, players can skin the corpse of a npc and get a hide or a pelt that they could sell in the store.

I'm not really a coder, but I learn fast and I dont give up easily..

I've managed to change the code so that it now allows us to skin NPC's instead of PC's, the problem is that it works on every NPC, when it should only work on certain animals (I'm looking for a way to link it so that it will only work on the NPC class: animal)

Here's the one line that I've changed so far:

in skills.c on line 476

if( corpse->item_type != ITEM_CORPSE_NPC ) /* I changed PC to NPC */

I did the same thing a little further down: skills.c on line 491

korps = create_object( get_obj_index( OBJ_VNUM_CORPSE_NPC ), 0 );

Another problem that I ran across, is that you can continously strip down a corpse. It should be just one pelt or hide per corpse.

Here's the piece of code that is handling corpse skinning.. (maybe there is more that I dont know of)

void do_skin( CHAR_DATA * ch, char *argument )
{
OBJ_DATA *korps;
OBJ_DATA *corpse;
OBJ_DATA *obj;
OBJ_DATA *skin;
bool found;
char *name;
char buf[MAX_STRING_LENGTH];
found = FALSE;

if( !IS_PKILL( ch ) && !IS_IMMORTAL( ch ) )
{
send_to_char( "Dat is iets voor echte jagers!\n", ch );
return;
}
if( argument[0] == '\0' )
{
send_to_char( "Welk kadaver wil je villen?\n\r", ch );
return;
}
if( ( corpse = get_obj_here( ch, argument ) ) == NULL )
{
send_to_char( "Je kunt het niet vinden.\n\r", ch );
return;
}