[Home] [Downloads] [Search] [Help/forum]

Register forum user name Search FAQ

Gammon Forum

[Folder]  Entire forum
-> [Folder]  MUSHclient
. -> [Folder]  Tips and tricks
. . -> [Subject]  Trigger to color room title

Trigger to color room title

It is now over 60 days since the last post. This thread is closed.     [Refresh] Refresh page

Posted by Kyzen5   (7 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Sun 26 Dec 2004 08:53 PM (UTC)
I'm still new to Mushclient and all it can do but looks like it's a great client... I'm also still learning triggers and such, and i've tried reading on triggers a little and maybe i'm missing something... but i'm looking for suggestions on how to color the title of the rooms? I've been playin with this but it's obvious i'm still learnin. :) any help would be appreciated.. or maybe i'm wantin to do the impossible?

kyzen5
[Go to top] top

Posted by Shadowfyr   USA  (1,786 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #1 on Sun 26 Dec 2004 10:41 PM (UTC)
Not impossible, just possibly complicated. First question is, "Are the titles already colored and you just want to change the color?" If not, then things are going to get difficult and maybe won't even work.

Basically, what you are looking for is a regular expression trigger like:

^\S[\w\S]{0,10}$

This will then color anything between one and ten characters in length that contains letters or spaces. The first \S is to make sure that at least one non-space character is matched. Change the '10' to what ever you expect the maximum number of characters to be. This 'may' work. However it is likely to trap a lot of lines it shouldn't. If however, you know that existing room titles are bright white, then you can set the trigger to color only those lines and hope some other line on the mud doesn't meet the requirements. Fact is, if the mud doesn't do some sort of coloring for them itself, and in a color not used by anything else, then you are going to have a major problem trying to make a trigger work, in any client.