[Home] [Downloads] [Search] [Help/forum]

Register forum user name Search FAQ

Gammon Forum

[Folder]  Entire forum
-> [Folder]  MUSHclient
. -> [Folder]  Lua
. . -> [Subject]  Word number to actual number

Word number to actual number

It is now over 60 days since the last post. This thread is closed.     [Refresh] Refresh page

Pages: 1 2  

Posted by Rene   (46 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Sun 01 Oct 2017 05:27 PM (UTC)
I'm kind of new to coding, and am trying to change a capture called 'amount' from the word of a number, i.e. 'one' 'twenty three' to the digits, '1' '23'. I figured I can do it by writing a string with all the words and have it run a for string through it until it matches. Is this the way to go about doing it, or is there a simpler way?

To note, the number is likely to be under 20 if that makes any way of doing it more optimal.

THanks.
[Go to top] top

Posted by Marco   (36 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Reply #1 on Sun 01 Oct 2017 08:16 PM (UTC)

Mmmm first of all you should show the Trigger with which you are supposed to capture the number.

This is for sure the difficult part. As regarding your question i'm sure there are many elegant way to solve it (i remember an old excel sheet with a macro doing that..)

BUT ... you are speaking about numbers < 20!

So, even if it is UNelegant, the first things come in mind is a table

In first place i would've created a simple array (table without any keys) trying to find a way to get the index position by knowing the element you are looking for, but i don't remember how to do it :').

So, since we are speaking about only twenty members i'd create a table with keys like that:
local litNumb = {
one = 1,
two = 2,
three = 3,
four = 4,
five = 5,
six = 6,
seven = 7,
eight = 8,
nine = 9,
ten = 10,
eleven = 11,
twelve = 12,
thirteen = 13,
fourteen = 14,
fifteen = 15,
sixteen = 16,
seventeen = 17,
eighteen = 18,
nineteen = 19,
twenty = 20 } -- end litNum