[Home] [Downloads] [Search] [Help/forum]

Register forum user name Search FAQ

Gammon Forum

[Folder]  Entire forum
-> [Folder]  MUSHclient
. -> [Folder]  Lua
. . -> [Subject]  Sorting cogs into different pegs

Sorting cogs into different pegs

It is now over 60 days since the last post. This thread is closed.     [Refresh] Refresh page

Posted by Alderkar   (11 posts)  [Biography] bio
Date Mon 13 Mar 2017 02:53 AM (UTC)

Amended on Mon 13 Mar 2017 11:01 PM (UTC) by Nick Gammon

I am just learning and have been banging my head against this for a bit and was hoping for some more experienced eyes. Im very inexperienced and i need a explain it like im 5...

what im trying to do is sort circles into pegs for a mini game. I have compiled all the combinations that are possible (120) into a text file and now im trying to put those numbers into a table so that it trys it, then loops back and trys the next line in the file. So far i have this...

file = io.open("file.txt", "r")

for line in file:lines() do
print(line)   
--This works and prints the output:
end

table = {1,2,3,4,5}

for key , value in pairs(table) do 
--print ("cog",key,"peg",value)
Send("put ","cog",key," ","peg",value)

end

--This works and sends

put cog1 peg1
put cog2 peg2
put cog3 peg3
put cog4 peg4
put cog5 peg5

Now im having a hard time instead of explicitly telling it to set the table like this

" table = {1,2,3,4,5}"

i want it to do something like this

" table = {line data from the file read above}"

and then loop it back through each possibility from a file of 120 lines which has data that looks like this

all the way through all the combinations.

Each time i try to do that im not getting the output im expecting. I am banging my head against the wall the right way to do it.

I really appreciate all you advanced level guys helping out the newbs like me
[Go to top] top

Date Reply #1 on Mon 13 Mar 2017 03:37 AM (UTC)